Samsung finds its corporate conscience

Fridgeb

Well, we have come full circle with the, now resolved, saga of our defunct refrigerator.

I first wrote about this problem in my post, A foodie without a refrigerator | The Delicious Divas with a follow-up post questioning corporate integrity entitled, A loss of faith in corporate integrity | The Delicious Divas.

Now, I am happy to report that Samsung has finally resolved to refund the full purchase price for our unusable, smelly refrigerator.

But, even this decision did not come easily.  To add insult to injury, the company sent email instructing us to sign an affidavit attesting to the fact that we would not resell the refrigerator, requesting that we remove the serial decal from the product and, if you can believe it, sending along a picture of the electrical cord cut.

I looked at Randy and said, “Really?”  I thought to myself: Sometimes things are so ridiculous that you just have to step back and laugh.  I took a picture of Randy cutting the cord and happily sent it along. The company had no intention of sending anyone to pick up this piece of nonfunctioning debris from our home which is one of the reasons we did not run right out to buy a refrigerator at the beginning of this story.  We wanted to wait until it was resolved because most companies that sell refrigerators will also take away the old ones.

As soon as we received the email that the documentation was acceptable and the refund had been processed, we were off to the store to purchase a brand, spanking new LG stainless steel refrigerator which was delivered the very next day.  What a great, celebratory day, the old, unusable, smelly refrigerator was loaded onto the truck and a beautiful, clean, working  refrigerator took its place in my kitchen.

The very last communication we received from the company was a Samsung Satisfaction Survey from the Samsung Customer Satisfaction Team.  Now close your eyes and imagine what we will say on that survey.  It will not be pretty.

On a personal note, this whole affair has actually made me very sad.  We currently own a Samsung, microwave, stove, dishwasher, phone and computer monitor.  Until this very unsatisfactory treatment from the customer service department, we were happy with our decision to fill our home with Samsung products.  Not anymore!

We are hoping that the results of our survey will be used as an example of what not to do when dealing with good customers.

The good news is that soon enough I will be back in the kitchen whipping up delicious food and sharing tasty recipes with all my wonderful followers.  I am a happy foodie!

Enjoy,

Mary

Writing 101: Serially Found

This entry was posted in Writing project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Samsung finds its corporate conscience

  1. ED and Pat Mitchler says:

    Randy: We have this unit but without the water in the door for eight years now and have had no problems. Good luck .Ed

  2. Randy says:

    Well put……………………………

  3. Deb says:

    I have an LG very similar to that one except I opted to get the one with the door within a door cuz I thought it would be economical. I love the refrigerator, however I am forever opening the wrong door, if I only want to open the outside one I open the whole door, if I want the whole door I push the button the opens the outside one..oh well!!! 🙂 Glad Samsung finally came thru for you, I have a Samsung tv hope I never have issues with it! Looking forward to following you blog!!

  4. Mike Fr*nk*l says:

    I’m happy it was finally resolved. Though we all know it is so ridiculous what has to be done to get satisfaction and the frustrations we go through.

    • Hi, Mike–Thanks for stopping by. If only they would get the corporate act together. But then, that is hoping for miracles in this day and time. But, one can only hope. Mary

  5. Tina says:

    I’m so surprised to hear of your battle with Samsung. Have so many of their products and was always very pleased. Will have to rethink this with future purchases. Glad to hear things will be getting back to normal now.

  6. John says:

    Did you ever get the money?

    • Hi, John–Oh, yes, we finally got a total refund for the refrigerator. I posted a blog called “Samsung finds its corporate conscience” on May 3, 2015. Unfortunately, after putting up with such bad customer service, we took our refund and purchased an LG refrigerator/freezer to replace the Samsung. Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Keep reading. Mary

  7. Pingback: Bringing back a favorite just in time for Thanksgiving | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

