Five years and counting for the Delicious Divas blog

img004f

Have you ever had a joy and rapture moment in your life? A day when a word, deed or happening brought a smile to your face and filled your heart with joy? I have been very fortunate during my lifetime to have many such moments. A recent ‘joy and rapture’ moment for me was realizing that the Delicious Divas blog has reached a five-year anniversary.

Tyler Florence's Spaghetti Carbonara

Tyler Florence’s Spaghetti Carbonara

My daughter Kristine and I started the Delicious Divas blog on May 10, 2010 with a ‘welcome’ to our site followed by a funny post by Kristine called Exploding Meatballs. I posted my first blog, “I love pasta, this one is a keeper” on May 11, 2010.

As Kristine said at the time, “This blog isn’t going to be perfect…We’d like to think this blog should focus on a mother and daughter’s enjoyment of cooking and the stories, at times funny, about cooking recipes…Also, it’s about food…could be losing weight and finding those recipes that are not only healthy but taste good!”

Over time the blog evolved into, not only sharing recipes, but sharing experiences at favorite restaurants, sharing my love for cooking with my grandchildren, taking readers along on fun motorcycle trips around the country and beyond, cruising the blue oceans and, this year, participating in a writing challenge that I absolutely loved.

This evolution started shortly after the blog began. Randy and I had planned a wonderful motorcycle trip the summer of 2010 with our friends that would take me out of the kitchen for three weeks leaving me wondering how to maintain a blog about food while on the road.

DSC07492b

Peggy’s Cove LIghthouse-Nova Scotia

DSC07523So, I thought, why not focus on the many new restaurants we would encounter along the way. My first travel blog, “Friends, Motorcycles Things to see & Food to eat Part I”, not only focused the restaurants we encountered along the road but all the wonderful places we visited as we traveled through New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince William Island, Canada.

The Natchez Trace

The Natchez Trace

DSC00550Our next wonderful experience on the motorcycle was traveling along the beautiful Natchez Trace from Natchez, Mississippi to Nashville, Tennessee. What a great trip. The sights we saw, the restaurants we stopped in, the delicious food we enjoyed along the way; it was all so wonderful I just had to share.

2nd Prize Winner at Park Fairfax 1st Chili Cook-off Kristine!

2nd Prize Winner at Park Fairfax 1st Chili Cook-off Kristine!

Kristine and I have had a great deal of fun sharing many tasty recipes. One recipe we both shared netted us award winning status. We both love chili and when Kristine asked me for a chili recipe to enter in her community’s first chili contest I sent along one I had prepared for our neighborhood’s annual Torrey Pines Butt Kickin’ Chili Contest called “Eye-Poppin Chili with Corn”.   Kristine prepared the chili, entered it into the contest and shared her experience in a blog titled, “And the winner is…”

DSC01491

DSC01463Over the years my grandchildren have come down to Florida to visit and one of the activities I love the most is teaching the children to cook.  One of my granddaughter Madalyn’s favorite recipes if mocha chip scones. She was visiting one summer when it was my turn to host the monthly neighborhood Kaffee Klatsch and jumped right in to help me prepare a wonderful brunch.

french toast 1

Then one summer I asked if she would like to write her own blog. She decided to make and write about one of her very favorite breakfast dishes and titled her blog, Frenchy French toast.

IMG_2921b

IMG_2917bWhen grandson, Derek came down he found the dishes he would prepare from “Emeril’s There’s A Chef in my Soup!” cookbook. He prepared three recipes but his favorite was a great lunch sandwich BAM! PB&J.  He also cooked up a wonderful French toast and one evening prepared a great chili for dinner. It was fun to watch how quickly he took to working in the kitchen eventually saying to me, “Grandma, I think I will be a chef”.  Who knows perhaps he will someday.

DSC07133

Once in a while a friend will share a recipe with me and it becomes a new recipe for my rather full recipe box. One that I particularly love is a Creamy Butternut Squash soup given to me by friend Pattie Rogus. I had been invited to Pattie’s for lunch one day and fell in love with this wonderfully smooth soup that has become a staple for me to prepare in the fall and early winter.

And, then, there are the cruises. I must share that I felt a little foolish the first time I decided to blog about a cruise Randy and I were taking after I started the blog. After my dinner was served, I  looked around the dining room hoping no one would notice that I was taking pictures of my food. I got over that feeling quickly and have been blogging about all the wonderful places we have traveled since then.

img014

Our first cruise was with friends on the Norwegian Star to the Western Caribbean “Cruising with Friends – Come Sail Away”.

View from the Ponte Vecchio,- Florence, Italy

View from the Ponte Vecchio,- Florence, Italy

Alhambra Palace and Gardens - Malaga, Spain

Alhambra Palace and Gardens – Malaga, Spain

Since that first cruise, we have cruised many times around the Caribbean and finally came to the conclusion that we needed to broaden our horizons and embarked on a 57-day trans-“Once in a lifetime Oasis of the Seas cruise” trans-Atlantic to Europe.  Oh, my, what a wonderful experience!

DSC00209

DSC00208
Because of the blog I have made an effort to search for at least one food related excursion on every trip. One of my favorites was an excursion in Cozumel, Mexico where we participated in a tour called, ‘Salsa and Salsa’. We learned to prepare a variety of salsas followed by lessons in salsa dancing. We had so much fun!!  We shared this fun day with friends Lana and Barry.

This year WordPress.com sponsored a writing challenge that gave me an opportunity to turn my attention into another direction. Each day for twenty days participants were given an opportunity to write a blog based on a prompt and twist that were, at times fun and always thought provoking. While I was only able to complete half of the prompts, I enjoyed this project and look forward to participating in this project again in the future.

One of my favorite prompts was, “Write about the three most important songs in your life – what do they mean to you?” From this prompt I happily wrote a blog entitled “Songs that have touched my life”.

Kristine and I sharing a fun time during our annual 'March Madness' get together in Virginia

Kristine and I sharing a fun time during our annual ‘March Madness’ get together in Virginia

Well, there you have it. These are but a few of the 367 blogs posted over the past five years. While Kristine has not participated in the writing for several years, we continue to share recipes many of which I have prepared and posted.

Those of you who are new to my blog, I hope you enjoy my writings as much as I enjoyed writing them and leave some words before you exit the site. Those of you who have taken this ride with me over the years, I look forward to hearing from you as I work towards celebrating another five-year anniversary.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cruising, Food, motorcycle trips, recipes, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Five years and counting for the Delicious Divas blog

  1. Jack Benstock says:

    You do a great job. I’m proud to have you and Randy as treasured friends. Keep traveling and stay in good health. Maxine and I are traveling New Zealand and Australia in March for 44 days. We are staying in B&Bs and farmhouses through out. It is a self drive vacation.

    • Hi, Jack–How wonderful! Randy and I traveled to Australia and New Zealand back in 2009 and love every minute. Have a great time!!!!!! Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. Mary

  2. Barbara spivey says:

    Great reading the history of your blog site.
    Barbara

  3. helffrich says:

    I have so enjoyed your blogs. You have a real gift for writing. This 5-year overview was really interesting. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Randy says:

    It has been a fun trip with you.

  5. Mary says:

    Happy Anniversary! Alway a “treat” to read your blog.

  6. Linda Pellien says:

    Great blog, Mary! Loved the walk down ‘memory lane’ and especially the pictures! 🙂 Keep’em coming!

Leave a Reply

