She’s Alive! She’s Alive!

OMG! I’m writing my first blog in almost 3 years. Has it been that long? According to my mom, yes, yes it has been that long. What have I been doing you ask? Well I was laid off a couple years back, and due to budget constraints I couldn’t cook and bake like I was accustomed to so I had to stop. Oddly enough, I find myself unemployed again due to a downsizing and mom encouraged me to get back to writing while doing the day-to-day of job searching.

So, I search for jobs, hit the gym or go for long walks, golf occasionally, and of course, work on my tan. I also have time to make dinner, which my boyfriend loves! For background, he’s a red meat kind of guy where I am not. I’ll eat it, but I’d rather have chicken or turkey, as well as seafood. Therefore, I tend to run recipes by him that I find in Cooking Light or on Pinterest. This week, and based on his approval, I made a copycat version (modified slightly) of Bonefish Grill’s Bang Bang Shrimp (source: Feeding Big blog).

If you currently don’t refer to Pinterest to source recipes, I encourage you to do so. Some of the best things I’ve made come from that site. If you’re curious as to what I “pin”, here’s a link to my Pinterest page: https://www.pinterest.com/klg1972/

Back to the shrimp.

Talk about an easy dish to make in less than 20 minutes for a light and healthy dinner. I served edamame beans as an appetizer, which was plenty of food for the both of us. As I noted in a previous paragraph, I modified the recipe ever so slightly. I used Duke’s Light mayonnaise and served it with brown rice versus Bibb lettuce. My boyfriend isn’t the biggest fan of salads or any leafy greens, so hence the rice. He actually commented that I was “obsessed” with salads. I admit, when I was working, 3-4 times a week I packed a salad for lunch.

I’m already thinking of my next blog that will focus on hot dogs. Yes, hot dogs.

Kristine

The boyfriend :-)

The boyfriend 🙂

Bang Bang Shrimp

Bang Bang Shrimp

Bang Bang Shrimp2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to She’s Alive! She’s Alive!

  1. Nice going, Kristine.

  2. Randy says:

    Looks good!!!! Interesting that a cruise banner came up at the end. BTW. Keep up the good work on Blogging.

  3. helffrich says:

    So nice to hear from you. Bang Bang Shrimp is a personal favorite of mine. The rice adds a nice touch. Looking forward to more from you. Good luck on your job hunting. Sue Helffrich (cruising buddy of Randy and your Mom).

Leave a Reply

