A fun day in Falmouth, Jamaica

Look at that water!  Greens, blues just beautiful

Look at that water! Greens, blues just beautiful

We woke up this morning to another gorgeous day.  The skies were blue with little wispy clouds and calm seas.  It is going to be a beautiful day in Falmouth, Jamaica.

Coming into port

Coming into port

Falmouth is the chief town and capital of the parish of Trelawny in Jamaica and founded by Thomas Reid in 1769.  Falmouth is located on Jamaica’s north coast and noted for ‘one of the Caribbean’s best-preserved Georgian towns’.

DSC09663

Climbing Dunns River Falls with friends John and Lorraine 2011.

Climbing Dunns River Falls with friends John and Lorraine 2011.

 

We have cruised to Jamaica several times before once eating at a wonderful local restaurant called NAZZ in Falmouth and twice walking up Dunns River Falls in Ocho Rios.  NAZZ and Dunns River Falls are a must when visiting Jamaica.

DSC00734

DSC00735We docked late this morning so we decided to go to breakfast in the dining room.  The menu included all the traditional breakfast choices like eggs, breakfast meats, pancakes, cereals, granola, bakery goods, plus international choices that included kippered herring and smoked salmon.

I did not eat much the night before so I was very hungry.  I decided I would have the ‘classic’ that included two eggs, hash brown potatoes, toasted English muffin and one pancake.  When it first came to the table I thought; Good heavens, am I going to be able to eat all that?  Yes, yes I did.

Now, what I did not tell you yesterday is that one our way back to the ship in Labadee I had somewhat of a mishap.

As we were walking back Randy looked over at me and said, “You know, it would be better if you did not have any shoes on so the sand will not get in between your foot and the shoe”.

I thought about that for a moment and took my shoes off.  Before too long I was uncomfortable because the sand was so hot.  I decided to stop and brush off the sand and put my shoes back on.  I walked over to a small stone wall and started to raise my foot up on the wall and instead jammed one of my toes so hard it started to bleed and swell.  In an instant the toe started to swell and I was in a good deal of pain. YIKES!

I did not want to go to the medical office with such a silly problem so we made our way back to the cabin.  We immediately put ice on the toe. I asked Randy to go down to the guest services desk and ask if they had any band aids so I could wrap the bad toe and the one next to it in hopes it would help the swelling and I could walk.

He did, I did and we were off to the lounge for cocktails and dinner.  I slept fitfully and worried that I had broken the toe.  So, on our way down to deck one I decided to stop at the medical office to see if the doctor could check it out for me.

Now, as I sat there and looked around the room I really felt weird.  There was a woman who looked like she was in considerable pain, a woman who had broken her arm getting ice cream on the pool deck and a little boy who absolutely could not stop squirming he felt so bad.  I remember pulling my foot back under the chair so no one could see how trivial my medical emergency was.

Like most medical offices it was wait, wait, and wait.  But, the nurses were kind and the doctor was funny.  They did an x-ray of my toe.  When I finally got called in to see the doctor he said with a smile, “I have good news and bad news.  The good news is that your toe is not broken.  The bad news is that you have old bones”.

I laughed and laughed.  He remarked that I had done all the right things to take care of my toe but said, “Now, let’s make that bandage look a little more professional”.  I liked this doctor.

By now though, it was 2:30pm.  Randy came by and picked me up and we finally made our way down to the port.

Cruise 6

Cruise 5

 

First stop, Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville.  Margaritalville is a fun place to visit with a large restaurant, bar, shops, plenty of photo opportunities, a great pool and, best of all, free Wi-Fi.

Cruise 4

Randy 2We spent time enjoying ice cold drinks, chips and salsa and a wonderful breeze that blew through the open spaces.  Of course, Randy felt a driving need to post my toe on Facebook.  Too funny!

DSC00744

While we were enjoying our refreshments there was a lively music trivia game going on.  The DJ would put on a song and after only a short intro you had to come up with the names of the song as well as the name of the artist.  Now the trick was there was only one chair in the center of the patio.  If you knew the two names you had to be the one in the chair to say your answer.  No shouting out the answer was allowed.

DSC00742

About twenty happy revelers took part and it was quite funny to watch as someone who knew the answer would start running to the chair.  There were collisions, periodically someone would wind up in a strange lap.  One time a guy could not get to the front of the chair in time so he pulled the chair out from under the girl who was getting ready to sit down.  That did not go over well.  The DJ docked him 20 points for this bad behavior.  Now what you have to know is that they were all doing this for a tee shirt.  Very funny!

We headed back to the ship but only after we walked around the port and did a bit of window shopping while listening to great island music from a group playing island music in a gazebo at the center of the port.

We had heard that the Windjammer dining room was going to be having afternoon tea.  That sounded good to Randy and I so we made our way there.  We were expecting cups of warm tea, little sandwiches and pastries.  What they called a tea was actually a late afternoon lunch.  We looked around and finally found a pan of scones right next to the tacos.  This has definitely been a funny day.

DSC00764b

DSC00765bWe eventually made it back to the cabin and dressed for the evening.  We enjoyed cocktails in the lounge and dinner with our table mates.  After dinner we made our way up to the promenade to see what the “Taste of the Caribbean” was all about and had a fun time drinking an island drink and listening to the great sounds of Caribbean Force.

After a long day of walking from here to there we both thought it would be a good idea to take my toe back to the cabin and give it a rest.

Tomorrow we will be in Grand Cayman.

DSC00766bEnjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cruising, restaurants, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A fun day in Falmouth, Jamaica

  1. mukul chand says:

    Great Post . Do read and follow these blogs to go on a roller coaster ride of fun and more; http://www.enchantedforests.wordpress.com and http://www.travelwithmukul.wordpress.com

  2. helffrich says:

    So now I finally have the toe story. It wasn’t until we got back on Oasis and looked down at the port in Falmouth, that I realized how large Margaritaville is, with that lovely large pool. We will have to check it out next time. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Barbara spivey says:

    My friend Mary,
    You are a phenomenal blogger. I love the whole toe story including the dr. Have a great rest of the cruise trip.
    Barbara

  4. Pingback: Fun day at Margaritaville in Falmouth, Jamaica | The Delicious Divas

  5. Pingback: Rockin’ out in Falmouth, Jamaica at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

