Hot Damn, Hot Dogs!

Yes, I’m 43 years old and blogging about hot dogs. And yes, you read that right. My boyfriend loves letting me experiment and use him as a culinary guinea pig, but he does appreciate the simple things like hot dogs and tater tots. Bless his heart.

Lucky for him, our local grocery store was having a BOGO free on hot dogs so I picked some up. However, I wasn’t about to just toss them in boiling water and serve it for dinner. Not this girl.

As I sometimes pick-up a copies of Weight Watchers magazine, they had a feature in the May/June issue on hot dogs. One I knew we both would enjoy was Chicago-Style Hot Dogs.

It’s pretty easy, and most of the ingredients I already had in my pantry with the exception of the sweet relish and pepperoncini’s. You will note my substitutions next to the ingredients listed in the recipe below.

Ingredients

4 light beef or pork hot dogs

4 reduced-calorie whole grain hot dogs buns (I used whole wheat)

4 kosher dill pickles sandwich slices (I used the round slices)

½ plum tomato, cut into 4 slices, each slice halved

2 tsp mustard

4 tsp sweet pickle relish

8 tsp chopped, white onion

4 pepperoncini peppers, chopped

Pinch celery seed (I used celery salt)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat grill to medium-high heat. (Note: I boiled them first and then placed the hot dogs on a cast iron grill pan.)
  2. Grill hot dogs directly over heat, turning as needed, until grill marks appear and links are heated through, about 5 minutes. Grill buns until lightly toasted, about 1 minute.
  3. Place hot dogs in buns; arrange 1 pickle slice on one side and 2 pieces of tomato on the other side of the hot dogs. Spread each with 1/2 tsp mustard; top with 1 tsp relish, 2 tsp onion and one-fourth of the pepperoncini. Sprinkle with celery seed (see note above in “Ingredients”).

After we’ve finished a meal, I always ask my boyfriend if the dish is worthy enough to make it into our dinner rotation. He definitely said yes to this dish. But quite honestly, as we are now the proud owners of a jar each of sweet relish and pepperoncini peppers, he may not have had a choice this time. Just kidding…or am I? 😉

Chicago Style Hot Dogs

Kristine

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot Damn, Hot Dogs!

  1. helffrich says:

    They look delicious. Can’t go wrong with hotdogs.

  2. Hi, Kristine–Sounds interesting. Perhaps Randy and I will try these sometime soon. I’ll let you know what we think.

Leave a Reply

