Thanksgiving at Bonita Springs

IMG_3295

We woke this morning in our beautiful timeshare at Coconut Plantation, Bonita Springs, Florida to beautiful blue skies dotted with white wispy clouds and a slight breeze. We have been celebrating the Thanksgiving holiday here at Coconut Plantation for many years and look forward to it each year. This year we will be celebrating the holiday with our daughter, Kara.

IMG_3319

View from the balcony

View from the balcony

By 8am Randy and I were sitting on the balcony engaging in our usual activity of sipping steaming hot coffee, enjoying a pastry from Panera Bread and laughing at the funny antics of the early morning golfers when they hit the ball and it does not go where they thought it would. For us, this is very funny entertainment indeed.

Kara had decided to do a bit of meditation before joining us, so off we went. By 10am Randy and I were basking in the sun poolside. I looked around and thought: it is going to be a glorious day!

IMG_3337

IMG_3347bAt one point while enjoying my book, I found myself mesmerized as I watched the palm fronds gently swaying as the wind made its way through the trees. I also noticed that the clouds in the sky were becoming puffier and covering more and more the blue sky. So much so, the clouds blocked the warmth of the sun from reaching us, but only for a while.

IMG_3367

Lunch time rolled around so we headed up to the Veranda restaurant just a few steps from the pool. I had the nachos, cheese and salsa with a wonderful rum drink concoction called the Tropical Storm. I must say it was very tasty indeed.

IMG_3370b

There are beautiful flowers everywhere!

There are beautiful flowers everywhere!

While we were eating a gentleman came around handing out Bingo cards to everyone and saying, “Whoever gets Bingo will win an ice cream”. Well, that did it, we played. We did not win but we had fun.

 

me 2

We made our way back to our lounge chairs to continue relaxing poolside.  Before too long more and more clouds rolled across the sky. It made me wonder if we were in for a rainy afternoon. We did have a sprinkle or two but nothing that would chase us away from our heavenly surroundings.

me 1

Kara was the first to leave but we followed her back to our rooms shortly. After relaxing for a bit we dressed and went back to Panera Bread for wonderful bowls of hot baked potato soup. We all picked out our pastries for the morning and made our way back home.

The evening was spent by all differently. Kara watched the newest Cinderella movie, Randy showered and read his newspaper, and me, well, I wrote this blog.

IMG_3332b

Tomorrow is one of my very favorite holidays of the year, Thanksgiving. I have much to be thankful for. I am thankful for every day I have spent on this earth, I am thankful for each new day I am blessed with, I am thankful for the wonderful family I have been blessed with and thankful for the many friends I have been blessed to meet and hold dear over the years.

Tomorrow we will be having a wonderful Thanksgiving feast here at Coconut Plantation.

I wish everyone a very Happy Thanksgiving!

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Food, Thanksgiving, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanksgiving at Bonita Springs

  1. Mary says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy and relax

  2. Connie says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy your day with family and friends. We are headed to the club house for dinner at 1PM. Other friends in the community are joining us. Blessings, Connie and Ron

  3. helffrich says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, Randy, and Kara. We are so blessed and thankful to have you as friends.

  4. Liz says:

    Enjoy! Looks like a beautiful spot!!

  5. Randy says:

    Great time here at Bonita Springs. Warm, but not hot. Water a bit chilly. Happy Thanksgiving to all.

  6. Bob and Sandy says:

    Sure looks like another grand time in Bonita. Beautiful pictures of our friends and what a fabulous looking lunch. YIKES.

Leave a Reply

