A joy filled day on the Navigator of the Seas

IMG_3547b

What a beautiful morning. The prediction for the day was temperatures to be in the 80’s.  When I look up at the sky it was almost hidden behind a blanket of white drifting clouds with just a hint of blue peeking out.  I just knew today was going to be a wonderful day.

Randy had another restless night so I volunteered to go down to the café and get us some coffee.   When I returned I put on the television to catch some news before heading up to the Windjammer to meet our friends for breakfast.

But each screen was blank and the only words that could be seen were, “No signal”. We sat sipping our coffee while I kept trying to find something to watch and came across a channel that brought a smile to both our faces.

IMG_3543b

To our surprise and joy the screen filled with the sight of a beautiful crackling fire with soft piano music in the background playing Christmas songs. How wonderful, we thought.  I closed the curtains, turned off the lights and there we sat in our bed sipping coffee mesmerized by the beautiful sight filling our eyes feeling relaxed and happy.  All memories of our restless night just melted away.

Eventually, we made our way up to the Windjammer to meet our friends and after breakfast we all made our way to the Solarium pool where Connie and Dennis arranged six chairs together facing the wonderful blue waters of the Atlantic. And, there we sat talking, laughing and enjoying being together.

Santa & me

At around 9:45am there was an announcement that Santa would be at the Promenade. In a flash I was out of my chair and quickly making my way down the stairs to get in line.  I was third in line.

I think I was the only adult without a child in the line. While waiting to see Santa I had a good time talking with a couple from Toronto and their 7 year-old boy.  The little boy was very funny asking me all kinds of questions about what kind of living arrangements I had in my cabin.  He wanted to know if I was sleeping on a bunk bed.  “No, I replied, “but I had a bunk bed when I was a little girl”.  I asked him if he was excited to be seeing Santa today.  “Oh, yes,” he said”.  I smiled and said, “Me too”.

When it was my turn I took my seat next to Santa. Santa asked, “Have you been good this year?”  I moved a little closer and whispered, “Now how much fun would that be?”  He laughed and put two thumbs up.  I did too.  Very funny!!!

Roaring fire in the cabin, a visit with Santa could the day get any better?

Cruise =at sea

We spent the day at the pool until it was time to return to the cabin and prepare for the evening. Tonight we would not be eating with our friends in the dining room.  Our wonderful travel agent, Andy Skolnik of Cruise One, gave us a complimentary dinner at one of the specialty restaurants on the ship.  We chose Giovanni’s Table.

IMG_0703

This was our second time at Giovanni’s. It is a family style restaurant specializing in Italian cuisine.

IMG_0694

The food, atmosphere and service were outstanding. We started with the Insalata Caprese per Due – Caprese Salad for 2.  This is one of my favorite salads.  The tomatoes were ripe and flavorful, the oil and balsamic delicate and the mozzarella cheese wonderful.

IMG_0702b

We both ordered the Filetto di Manzo alla griglia, patate fritte all’olio agliato, salsa al Barolo o Burro di Gorgonzola: Grilled 8oz. Beef Fillet tenderloin, garlic oil flavored fries, Barolo reduction or Gorgonzola butter.  The beef was so incredibly tender it melted in your mouth.  I enjoyed the fries but I really enjoyed the pasta dish I ordered.

IMG_0696b

For my pasta dish I ordered the Pappardelle alla crema di radicchio e pancetta: Pappardelle pasta with radicchio cream and pancetta. This pasta was delicious with a bold flavor.  The pancetta was a wonderful extra texture to the dish.

IMG_0708c

Zuppa Inglese–Layers of Italian custard with brandy infused berries and traditional sponge. Delicate and lovely!

The entire meal was lovely and I cleaned my plate. But the dinner would not be complete without dessert.  Randy and I both ordered the Tiramisu’ alla Giovanni for dessert to top off what was a wonderful meal. Tiramisu is an Italian dessert of Mascarpone Mousse with layers of coffee soaked biscuits.  After our desserts were placed on the table our server brought over a wonderful try of mini desserts and, of course, I could not resist.  To say that we were satiated would be such an understatement.

Formal

We decided to take a stroll on the Promenade and ran into our friends. I noticed that there was a ship’s photographer over by the Christmas tree and got our friends to all go over and get our picture taken.  It turned out very nice.

What a joy filled day! I mean does it get any better than having a roaring fire in your cabin (albeit a television screen), a visit with Santa, a soup-to-nuts delicious dinner and, topping it all off, a picture with your wonderful friends?  No, I think not.

Today was not a very good Fitbit day but there is always tomorrow. I walked 4,301 steps, 1.71 miles and walked 5 flights of stairs.

IMG_0688

Tomorrow will be our last day at sea before returning to port in Ft. Lauderdale.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Celebrations, cruising, Food, Italian Food, restaurants, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A joy filled day on the Navigator of the Seas

  1. Randy says:

    Great meal, wonderful company and an amazing dessert. As Mary said what more could a guy ask for!!

Leave a Reply

