Final day of a festive holiday cruise

IMG_0710b

Walked on to the balcony this into a morning filled with warm air, calm seas and blue skies.

What a great way to start the day. Now add to that a cup of hot steaming coffee, a TV channel with a roaring fire and Christmas music and I thought to myself, “It is going to be a great day!”

Randy seemed to turn a corner waking after a good night’s sleep. We met our friends at the Windjammer and had a great breakfast.  Everyone at the table agreed that Randy had a ‘bounce in his step’.

The last day on a cruise ship is always a bee hive of activity. Last minute shopping for that perfect tee shirt, those must have souvenirs, jewelry for the favorite ladies in our lives and, of course, all those wonderful photographic keepsakes.

Connie and Dennis had set up our lounge chairs again in the Solarium pool. At any given time one of us was on our way to take advantage of all those last minute sales; me too.  I made my way down to Guest Services to check on our account then down to the photo shop to choose which pictures I would like to purchase.  The pictures were great making it very difficult to choose.  I decided I would wait until Randy was with me to make the choices.

IMG_0751c

I made a quick run to the cabin to change into my bathing suit, pack a little and return to the Solarium. On my way I stopped in front of the three Star Wars pictures that were in our passageway.  The entire passageway was filled with movie posters from many different countries.

IMG_0312b

I thought it was interesting that our cabin would be on this deck and along this passageway. I am a big Star Wars fan and very anxious to get home to see the new Star Wars movie.  As I hurried to make my way back to the Solarium I came across a plaque about the posters.  It read:

“Original movie posters from several countries, and from every genre, are featured in this corridor, from classics such as Hitchcock’s ‘Marnie’ and ‘The Birds’ to modern day blockbusters like ‘Gladiator’ and ‘Harry Potter’.

The poster, which has been in existence for over a hundred years, has become an important method of communication. Today, it is recognized as a vital art form, attracting artists at every level, from painters to commercial and theatrical designers.”

Around 1:00pm the heavens opened up and the sea started to swell creating a lot of whitecaps. There was a Carnival ship in the distance and we watched as it became completely enveloped in the fog and rain.  All of a sudden we watched as the Carnival ship burst out of the mist and away from the storm.

IMG_0717b

IMG_0721b

 

Sandy had been down on the Promenade buying some tee shirts and came back telling us how cute the Promenade looked with towels animals all around the Christmas tree, and other areas.

 

IMG_0720b

I love towel animals so I grabbed my camera and ran down the stairs to see for myself.  How fun, I thought when I stepped off the elevator.  I walked around the Promenade looking at all the animals and smiling whenever I saw one that had been placed in our cabins over the years.

When I returned to the pool deck the wind had picked up. The wind was so strong all the pools were emptied.  There happened to be a barbeque at the main pool today.  Randy had gone to the Windjammer to get some lunch and laughed as he recounted watching hamburger and hot dog buns being blown across the deck.  We all really laughed when he told about a woman who was carrying pieces of cake across the pool deck only to have them both fly across the deck and into a wall.  I wish I could have seen that.

IMG_0739b

We returned to the cabin did a little packing and prepared for the evening. Up to the Diamond lounge for cocktails and then down to dinner.  I always love the last night on the ship because the menu includes a wonderful comfort meal; roasted turkey. The turkey is always moist, the cranberry sauce just a little tart and the mashed potatoes nice and creamy.

IMG_0737b

(Back from left) Jeff, Allison, Mary and Randy–(Seated from left) Bob, Sandy, Connie and Dennis

IMG_0745

 

The eight of us had a wonderful time sharing memories of our cruise and talking about the upcoming holidays. During dinner the dining room staff marched around the room and singing.  It was quite entertaining.

IMG_0749b

One of the servers had a fun time walking around with two wine bottles on top of his head.  This was the same gentleman who, in the mornings, would walk around the Windjammer with trays of pastries or coffee cups on his head.  We all marveled at his balancing abilities.   Everyone in our area of the dining room was popping up trying to capture this funny sight on the cameras, iPads or iPhones.  The whole sight was very funny.

Now it was time to return to the cabin, finishing packing, put our luggage outside our door and settle down for a good night’s sleep. We closed the curtains, turned off the lights and turned on, for the last time, the TV channel with the roaring fire.  We snuggled close and found ourselves singing along with the Christmas music.

IMG_0754b

We were up early and up to the Windjammer for breakfast and look at what we saw; a beautiful village of Gingerbread houses made by the culinary staff. They were all beautiful.  “What a beautiful way to end our cruise,” I thought.

Next stop, home.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Celebrations, cruising, Food, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Final day of a festive holiday cruise

  1. manavmalik says:

    Wow cruising is so much fun. I will plan my first cruise real soon. Thanks for sharing!

  2. helffrich says:

    Love the towel animals.

  3. Barbara Spivey says:

    Awesome cruise guys!

    • Hi, Barbara–Yes, it was an awesome cruise. How are you and Tom. Did you have a great holiday? When are you traveling again? We just got back from visiting with Paul and Rachel in Orange Beach, Alabama. We need to find some time to get together. How is the book coming? Mary

  4. bob and Chris Messersmith says:

    love your pre- Christmas pictures of the ship; Chris and I were at Senior frogs in Nassau before Christmas. hope Randy is feeling better!…bob and chris

    • Hi, Bob and Chris–Nice to hear from you. Had a great time on the Navigator. Loves the festive feeling all during the cruise. I love Senor Frogs. Glad you had a good time there. Randy is feeling better each day. Hope it clears up totally soon. Mary

  5. Judy says:

    What a cute way to display all those towel animals. I must admit I have never had the pleasure of seeing all those animals at one time.

    • Judy, Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. I loved the towel animal display. What fun. The whole trip was filled with festive doings on the trip. Christmas music during dinner, Santa coming to visit, beautiful decorations throughout the ship. All fun and beautiful. Keep reading. Mary

  6. Randy says:

    Well the cruise is over and I am feeling a bit better. The cruise has been fun and I had a grand time and I would like to thank my personal nurse for taking good care of me on this trip. Now is time to get off the ship, get our luggage, go thru customs, catch our shuttle back to where the car is and ride back to our house. Thank goodness I do not have to drive as Bob is doing the chauffeuring back to Summerfield. Looking forward to our next cruise in Feb!!

  7. Pingback: 2015 ends on a bittersweet note | The Delicious Divas

Leave a Reply

