Birthday celebration on the Serenade of the Seas

IMG_1255

I love sea days!

At 6am the skies were overcast but by 8am the skies had cleared promising a beautiful day to be cruising the dark blue waters of the Atlantic.

We headed up to the Windjammer to have breakfast with our friends and had a great time talking and laughing and sharing our thoughts about what we each had planned for the day. After breakfast we went up to the lounge for delicious cups of café latte.  While there our wonderful travel agents Dorit and Klaus came in and chatted with us briefly before we headed back down to the cabin.

IMG_1254

Randy wanted to spend some time reading on the balcony so I went to the gym to spend some time on the treadmill.   I spent an hour at the gym than back down to the cabin to pick Randy up and head to the pool.

I must say walking on the treadmill on a moving ship is quite a different experience. There were waves of at least 10 feet so when the bow dipped forward, I felt as though I was being pulled toward the front of the treadmill.  When the bow rose out of the water, I had the sensation of moving backward off the machine.  I found that I had to clamp my hand on the side arm of the treadmill to keep from spilling off the machine.  When I returned to the cabin I told Randy, “I am going to have one strong right arm at the end of this cruise if the seas continue to be this strong”.

IMG_1259b

When I returned to the cabin Randy had hung “Happy Birthday” banners above the artwork and had a birthday card waiting for me on the mirror. The surprise brought a smile to my face, thank you to my lips and a very wet lip-lock on Randy’s lips.

IMG_1260b

As we were preparing for a day at poolside a knock came at the door. When I opened it a steward was standing there with a wonderful plate of fruit courtesy of the Crown & Anchor Society.  There was an extra plate, utensils and crackers for the Camembert cheese.  “How lovely,” I thought.

When we finally got to the pool there was not a chair to be had. Fortunately, a couple was preparing to leave the main pool area and graciously offered their chairs to us.  Armed with an ice-cold Bahama Mama, my Kindle turned to the prologue of the latest Alex Cross series, Cross Justice; I was ready for a relaxing morning in the sun.

Our time at the pool was just perfect. The sun was shining brightly, there was a gentle breeze blowing across the pool deck and the DJ was playing fun, upbeat music.  Life surely is good!

IMG_1250

With the Super Bowl only a few days away, we decided to attend an enrichment talk called, “Earthquakes, World Series, Super Bowls – A Sports Writing Career” by sports journalist Steve Krasner.  So after a quick lunch we made our way down to the Tropical Theater.

I wanted to get a picture of the speaker before the talk started. Mr. Krasner spotted me and said, “Hope you got my good side”.  I said, “I think I did”.  With that he walked a little closer on the stage and struck a pose.

It would be a few more minutes before the talk started so I asked if he would be talking about things like CTE, which team he thought would win the Super Bowl, the controversy surrounding Peyton Manning, etc. He said he would be touching on all those subjects over the course of the enrichment series.

Mr. Krasner was personable, knowledgeable, funny and very entertaining. After his talk he opened the floor for a question and answer period. The question on everyone’s mind was, “Who do you think will win the Super Bowl?”  After a few words he said that he believed that the Carolina Panthers would win the game 24-10.

(Clockwise) Marty, Caryn, Randy, Mary, Dennis, Connie, Sandy and Bob

(Clockwise) Marty, Caryn, Randy, Mary, Dennis, Connie, Sandy and Bob.

Bob and Sandy enjoying cocktails with Dennis and Connie.

Bob and Sandy enjoying cocktails with Dennis and Connie. (Picture courtesy of Connie)

Dennis and Connie enjoying cocktails before dinner. (Picture courtesy of Connie)

Dennis and Connie enjoying cocktails before dinner. (Picture courtesy of Connie)

 

 

All too soon it was time to dress for cocktails and dinner. We love going to the Diamond Lounge.  We always meet such interesting people and have such wonderful conversations.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1275Tonight was formal night so my very favorite meal was on the menu, Carved Filet of Beef Tenderloin with Moreli-crimini mushroom sauce and creamy mashed potatoes. Yummy always!

IMG_2016a

After the main course my dear friends surprised me with a gift of fun tee shirts and a magnet birthday card. I was excited and humbled by their thoughtfulness.  Of course, a small chocolate delight was brought to our table by several wait staff as they sang, “Happy Birthday”.  Lovely, lovely, lovely!

img040c

We all left the dining room in a hurry as we wanted to take part in the “Captain’s Welcome Aboard Reception in the Centrum. But before that, Randy and I went up to deck 6 where Captain Szynkarczuk Krzysztof was graciously having his picture taken with passengers.

IMG_1297

IMG_1289bThen it was off to the theatre to see “A Tribute to the King” by entertainer Travis Ledoyt.  This young man was wonderful.  Travis walked, talked, gestured and sang like the King himself.  He established a wonderful rapport with the audience especially the women.  He managed to shake, rattle and roll his way into the hearts of the entire audience receiving a standing ovation at the end of his performance.

It had been a wonderful birthday; one that will fill my dreams from the time my head falls gently on the pillow until I wake in the morning.

Tomorrow is another day at sea.

IMG_1301Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Celebrations, cruising, Food, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Birthday celebration on the Serenade of the Seas

  1. Connie says:

    So happy to have shared this birthday with you Mary!

  2. Lana says:

    Happy Birthday Girlfriend

  3. Randy says:

    It was a great and full day on the ship. Full of activities and fun. What a fun day. Happy Birthday to my sweetie!!!

  4. helffrich says:

    Sounds like a perfect day. Loved reading about it.

  5. Connie and Ron says:

    Sounds like a wonderful birthday filled with many “moments”. Glad you had a beautiful day. A belated “Happy Birthday”! Always enjoy reading your posts.

  6. Bob and Sandy says:

    Mary, we were so pleased to be able to spend your “special” day with you. What fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Sequin says:

    Glad you had a lovely birthday, Mary. Many good birthday wishes for your next year!

Leave a Reply

