Simple, Easy Shepherd’s Pie

IMG_2285b

Enjoying our easy Shepherd’s Pie as the sun sets on our lanai.

I remember with great clarity just how hectic it was to prepare good, wholesome meals for my family when I was a young working woman and mom.  I was always looking for recipes that could be prepared from ingredients that were readily available in my pantry and make it to the dinner table in a timely manner to quell the hungry bellies of my family.

Well, on my most recent trip to my daughter Kristine’s, I found one of those dishes.  Kristine told me on the day I arrived that since we would be celebrating St. Patrick’s Day during my visit she was going to prepare a Shepherd’s Pie for dinner.   Kristine found this recipe in the September 30, 2007 issue of Real Simple magazine.

I loved it.  We added a small salad and had a wonderful meal.  I asked her to please send along the recipe so I could prepare it for Randy.  She did, and he loved it too.

Easy Shepherd’s Pie – Diana Hyle

Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef

1/3 cup ketchup

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

8 ounces frozen mixed vegetables (such as carrots, peas, and corn), thawed

¼ cup (1 ounce) shredded Cheddar (optional)

1 16-ounce package mashed potatoes, refrigerated or frozen and thawed

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400° F.
  1. Place the beef in a large skillet and cook over medium-high heat until no trace of pink remains, about 5 minutes.
  1. Spoon off and discard any fat. Stir in the ketchup and Worcestershire.  Add the vegetables and cook, stirring, for 1 minute.  Spoon into baking dish.
  1. Mix the cheese (if desired) with the potatoes in a bowl. Spread over the beef and bake until heated through, 10 minutes.  Divide among plates.

When Kristine put this pie together, she prepared boxed mashed potatoes.  I, on the other hand, decided to try something different.  I purchased a package of frozen Ore/Ida Steam n’ Mash cut Russet potatoes.  The directions were simple; microwave the potatoes in the bag for 10 minutes, pour potatoes into bowl, add 2/3 cups milk and 2 T butter, salt and pepper to taste and mash to desired smoothness.

I like my potatoes to be very creamy so I added a little more milk and butter.  No matter how you prepare the mashed potatoes this dish will be a simple, easy and delicious meal to serve on any day.

IMG_2288

When it came to adding the cheese, I mixed some into the mashed potatoes and sprinkled some on top of the potatoes, then baked.

The day I decided to prepare this dish I had purchased beautiful, plump, red, ripe tomatoes so that is what I served along with the pie.  We also enjoyed a nice glass of Merlot too.  Everything was delicious.

It was a beautiful evening so we ate our dinner on the lanai.  We ate, we talked, we laughed and as the sun began to set I thought; that was quite a nice meal!

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Cheddar cheese, Food, frozen mixed vegetables, ground beef, mashed potatoes, Merlot, potatoes, Shepherd's Pie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simple, Easy Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Randy says:

    It sure was a nice meal!!! It actually was just as good as leftovers. This is a keeper as far as I am concerned. Even the carrots were tasty(I do not care for cooked carrots).

  2. Darlyne Harper says:

    Love Shepards Pie! Will try your version. Have 2 chocolate cake recipes printed off for you,will try and drop them off. Darlyne Harper

  3. helffrich says:

    Sounds great. Can’t wait to try it.

  4. Deb says:

    I love Shepherd’s Pie, I only use corn though rather than mixed vegetables, might try the mixed for a change of pace!! Yum, thanks for the memories, it’s been a while since I’ve had it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

