Enjoying a laid-back day at sea

International Crew Parade of Nations

International Crew Parade of Nations

Today is the last day of this wonderful cruise and we are at sea.

IMG_4255

IMG_4256We woke up to a sky filled with cold rain, heavy winds and pea soup fog.  We dressed quickly and joined Vilma, Jim, Mickey and Betty at the Windjammer Café for breakfast and had a great time talking about our time in Bergen.  We all agreed it was a beautiful city.

It is the last day of this cruise but we are not disembarking tomorrow instead we are staying on the Serenade and continuing with the Serenade for cruise visiting a number of Baltic Sea countries.  Because we are not getting off in Denmark we are considered consecutive cruisers.  Today there is a meeting scheduled for all consecutive cruisers.

Everyone in our group is staying on so we all attended the meeting.  The meeting is designed to provide information for the consecutive cruisers to make a smooth transition into the next cruise.  Every country and each ship has different rules and so we needed to know what was expected of us regarding customs, new room keys, changing cabins, etc.

After the meeting Randy went off to check his email while I went down to purchase some photographs and take a few moments to look through the shops.

There was a great deal of activity scheduled around the ship but we decided to pick just two and relax the rest of the day.  Listed in the Cruise Compass was a designer watch event, enrichment talk, trivia, towel folding demonstration, a flash mob dance in the Centrum, final art auction, poker tournament, whiskey tasting, an aerial show in the Centrum and so much more.

Our wonderful Diamond Lounge manager, Gama, represented his country of Mexico by performing a traditional Mexican dance.

Our wonderful Diamond Lounge manager, Gama, represented his country of Mexico by performing a traditional Mexican dance.

Saw Betty and Mickey watching the parade from deck 6

Saw Betty and Mickey watching the parade from deck 6

 

We looked at this very long list and decided to participate in two activities.  The first activity we decided to participate in was the International Crew Parade of Nations in the Centrum at noon.  The officers, staff and crew of the ship, representing 60 nations, bring flags that represent their countries to the Centrum.

IMG_4192b

As our cruise director, Topi, announced the countries representatives of that country came forward; some danced, some paraded in a circle and others just waved their flag around.  However, they choose to present their flags it is always a fun and emotional event.  Topi announced that the passengers represented 58 nations.  I was very happy to see two crew members come forward waving the American flag.

Doug, Sue, Randy and I decided to each lunch in the dining room today.  Sometimes you just want to be served.  Today there was a made to order pasta bar.  Lunch was delicious.

We returned to the cabin for a relaxing afternoon of reading and catching up on the news.

Before we knew it, it was time to prepare for the evening.  We joined Doug, Sue, Dale and Karen in the Concierge Lounge and had a great time sharing stories about past cruises.

IMG_0739b

Our last night on the cruise I chose a comfort meal. I ordered the Roasted Turkey with apple bread stuffing, cider gravy, roasted red bliss potatoes, Brussels sprouts, carrot sticks and cranberry sauce.  I asked to switch the red bliss for mashed potatoes and received them.  Yummy!

IMG_4203b

IMG_4208b

The second activity we decided to participate in was the Farewell Variety Showtime featuring a BMX acrobat named Rob Alton.   I begged off so Randy went ahead and joined Doug and Sue in the theater.  When he returned I asked him, “How was the show”.

He thought for a moment and said, “It was interesting.  He did some amazing feats”. IMG_4259bWe were relaxing in the cabin with the curtains open when I noticed the sky turning bright with color.  I grabbed my camera and went onto the balcony to enjoy the view.  The sky was ablaze with yellow and red hues making it look as though the sky was on fire.  It was beautiful.

IMG_4263b

Randy and I spent some time reminiscing about all the experiences we had while traveling around Norway.  We both enjoyed every port of call, every moment on shore, every excursion we participated in, everyone we met, everything we ate and agreed that we would come back to this lovely country again.

Tomorrow we embark on the next leg of our back-to-back cruise experience and start our 10 night Ultimate Scandinavia-Russia cruise.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in cruises, cruising, entertainment, Food, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Enjoying a laid-back day at sea

  1. Randy Chartier says:

    It truly was a wonderful cruise to the scenic Country of Norway. It is really nice seeing a Country and the landscape that is so unique and that you had never seen before. Wonderful description and photos of our voyage. Thanks.

  2. Hi! How are you? I saw your amazing blog its so awesome! That’s why I followed you 😀 Wow! I hope to read more of your post. I hope we could be friends also. 😀 Nice meeting you.

    • Hello–Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words. It usually takes me some time before I respond. I am so glad you enjoy my posts. I do so love to travel and cook. Of course, I have not been doing much cooking lately. I do appreciate everyone who stops by. I love sharing my experiences when traveling. There are so many beautiful things to see in our great big world. And, I love to cruise. I love the idea that you can go to many different places at once just to the feel of a place and then decide where you would like to return for a longer visit. In the case of Norway though that would be very hard because I loved every port. I think sometime in the future I will definitely return to Bergen. While I really enjoy visiting all these wonderful destinations, I love sea days the most. I just love the quiet of sitting on the balcony, looking out at the sea and just drifting along. I find that so very peaceful. A very good thing for the soul. Again, thanks for stopping by hope to hear from you again. Mary

  3. helffrich says:

    Thanks for sharing. I so enjoyed reliving this fabulous cruise.

  4. Genny says:

    Loved the beautiful sunset pics!

Leave a Reply

