Brown Sugar-Pecan Buttons

img_7866b

Today was a banner day.  I woke up to a cool, crisp sunny morning that just begged for me to spend the day in the kitchen.  The first thing I thought of cooking was a large pot of Creamy Butternut Squash soup.  The recipe for this delicious soup was given to me by a friend several years ago and I have made it many times since.

img_7851bOnce the soup was finally put together and slowly simmering on the stove I turned my attention to making a dessert.

The first day of our Thanksgiving vacation at Bonita Springs, I came across a fun book called “A Lifestyle Coloring Book – Southern Living – Christmas at Home”.   What caught my eye as I stood in the checkout line flipping through this little book I noticed that it was was  filled with many delicious sounding sweet treats for the holidays and beyond.  There were yummy sounding recipes like, Tropical White Chocolate Fudge, Red Velvet Moon Pies, Butterscotch Pecan Pretzel Brittle, Pink Bunny Cupcakes and many more.

I leafed through the book and came across a recipe called Brown Sugar-Pecan Buttons that sounded interesting and set about to bake a batch for dessert.

All the ingredients are easily found at the grocery store and I just happen to have all making it an easy choice to prepare.

Brown Sugar-Pecan Buttonsimg_7860b

Ingredients:

Parchment paper

8 oz. (1 cup) butter, softened

1/3 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

3 Tablespoons granulated sugar

2 ¼ cups (9.6 oz.) all-purpose flour

1/3 cup finely chopped toasted pecans

1 cup powdered sugar

2 Tablespoons milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Beat the butter and sugars at medium speed with an electric mixer until fluffy. Gradually add the flour and pecans, stirring well.  (Dough will be slightly crumbly.)  Pat or roll the dough to ½-inch thickness on a lightly floured surface; cut with a 1 ½-inch round or fluted round cutter.  Place on prepared baking sheet.
  3. Bake at 325° for 23 minutes or just until bottoms are lightly browned. Cool 5 minutes.  Transfer cookies to a wire rack, and cool completely. (20 minutes).
  4. Stir together the powdered sugar and milk in a small bowl until smooth. Drizzle glaze over cookies.

img_7853bThis recipe was very simple to put together.  I put the first batch in the oven and thought how fun it would be to color the adjacent page while I waited for the oven timer to go off.  I have to tell you that it was a fun experience to sit quietly and pass the time coloring a holiday scene.  Sitting there coloring this holiday scene brought back so many wonderful memories of the times I spent with my girls on Christmas mornings past sitting in the living room drinking peppermint hot chocolate and eating cinnamon rolls while we opened our presents.

Once the cookies were cooled I brought one to Randy.  He loved them and said they reminded him of the little shortbread cookies we find in our cabin whenever we cruise on a Royal Caribbean ship.  I thought about that and told Randy that they reminded me of Keebler Sandies.

Whatever comes to mind when you pop one of these tasty morsels into your mouth you will think; delicious.  Be sure to have a cold glass of milk next to your plate of cookies.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in Cookbook, cookies, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brown Sugar-Pecan Buttons

  1. Randy Chartier says:

    They were sooooooooo good, I had a problem because I ate toooooo many.

  2. helffrich says:

    So enjoyed this. What a wonderful day. Loved it, and the pictures too.

  3. Dee manin says:

    It’s pretty cold in Asheville today…..good day for baking cookies…since Randy is a reliable taster…I am going to try these…Happy Holidays….Dee

  4. Hi I already follow your fab blog, so thought I would share that I am super excited as I am officially in the running for the UK BLOG AWARDS 2017! If you could click the link and choose FoodandDrink&Lifestyle on the drop down menu:
    http://blogawardsuk.co.uk/ukba2017/entries/forkwardthinkingfoodinista
    Thank you kindly in advance your vote is much appreciated
    Melanie xx
    https://forkwardthinkingfoodinista.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/stop-there-is-still-time-to-have-your-say/

  5. Connie says:

    We went north to IL and IN over the Thanksgiving holiday. Shipshewana was a toasty 29 degrees. Teddy, our dog, had a coat on. It was crisp outside. I would have enjoyed a few of those cookies with a hot cup of coffee after a few of those walks. We were there for two days. Enough of that. Joliet, IL for 4 days. 40’s and 50’s during the day. Southern IL for 3 days. Good to see our driveway when we got to FL. Ron is actually the one that likes to bake. If I bake, I eat. If Ron bakes, I eat. He made oatmeal cookies. We hand them out to the neighbors by the dozens. Love the way our home smells when he makes those cookies.

Leave a Reply

