Easy, delicious Chicken Chili

 

img_4654b

Super Bowl LI is just two days away and where am I?  I am in the kitchen trying out a new chili recipe for game night.

Each year I set about finding a new chili recipe.  I pour over my many cookbooks, scan cooking magazines at the grocery store and, once in a while, research recipes on the internet.  I have made chili recipes that included such wonderful ingredients as chocolate, coffee, cinnamon, a white chili with salsa and Monterey Jack cheese and more.  Some recipes were mild, some hot, some really hot and, all delicious.

One morning last fall while waiting for my groceries to be checked out, I scanned the cooking magazines and noticed a magazine I had not noticed before.  The magazine was cooking with Paula Deen.  I picked it up and flipped through the pages and noticed a section called Paula Deen’s Weekly Five – Easy Weeknight Meal Planner. 

The five meals featured included Molasses-Glazed Pork Chops with Roasted Vegetables, Chicken Chili, and Weeknight Shepherd’s Pie, Honey Mustard Turkey with Rice Pilaf and, Hearty Tomato and Italian Sausage Pasta.  Along with the recipes there was a shopping list of ingredients to prepare all the meals.

Happy that a chili recipe that sounded tasty was among the five, I purchased the magazine and made a mental note to try it before Super Bowl Sunday.

Chicken Chili by Paula Deen

Ingredients:img_4629b

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 pound boneless skinless chicken

1 small yellow onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 (32-ounce) container low-sodium chicken broth

3 (15.5-ounce) cans pinto beans, drained

1 (10-ounce) can diced tomatoes with green chilies, drained

¾ cup chopped green onion

1 (1.25-ounce) package chili seasoning

1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. In a large Dutch oven, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add chicken, and cook until browned, about 2 minutes per side.  Add onion, and cook until tender, about 3 minutes.  Add garlic, and cook for 1 minute.  Add bell pepper, and cook until tender, about 5 minutes.
  2. Stir in broth, beans, tomatoes, green onions, and chili seasoning, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer until chicken is cooked through, 25-30 minutes.  Remove chicken, and shred meat with two forks.  Return chicken to pot, and cook until heated through.  Stir in cheese just before serving.

I have never used packaged chili seasoning before.  I found a variety of McCormick’s chili seasongs at the super market.  The choices included McCormick’s original, Mild, Hot, Tex-Mex and Smoky BBQ.  Randy does not like foods that are ‘hot’ so I asked his opinion.  He suggested that we try the original.

The chili was easy to prepare and cook time was wonderful for someone who wants to put a home cooked meal on the table after a busy day.

img_4663b

As soon as the chili was done, I gave a spoonful to Randy to try.  I had to laugh when the man who hates ‘hot’ food said, “It is really good but I wonder if you could add a little heat?”  I went back to the kitchen and added a ¼ teaspoon of ground Cayenne red pepper.  I gave him another taste and he said, “It’s not too hot but I can feel a little heat in the back of my throat; perfect”.

Next, I put several servings in a container and brought it over to my neighbors and official taste testers, Bob and Sandy.  Later that evening a very happy Sandy called saying that they loved the chili and were so glad to be my taste testers.

A little extra cheddar cheese and warm, buttered corn muffins made for a delicious meal. This chili will definitely be added to my ever growing list of favorite chili recipes.

No matter what team you will be cheering on, have a great time.

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in chicken, Chili, Food, food magazines and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy, delicious Chicken Chili

  1. Genny says:

    Mary, you said nothing about the cornbread. Was it a mix or scratch? If scratch, would be interested in that recipe as well.

  2. Randy Chartier says:

    I loved it and the cornbread also.

  3. Bob and Sandy says:

    Yes indeed, The chili was wonderful, full of chicken, zesty and satisfying. Taste testing is the best job ever!!!!

Leave a Reply

