A decade of basketball, beer and bad food-Spicy Chicken Enchiladas and Fresh Salsa

When I make my annual trip north for the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament I always bring along a recipe or two to share with Kristine.  This year I brought two of my favorite Mexican dish recipes.  The first is an easy chicken enchilada recipe that has become a family favorite and the other is a fresh salsa recipe that I got from a friend oh, so many years ago.

I found the enchilada recipe while standing in the check-out line of the grocery store.  While waiting I tend to read the front covers of all the small food magazines by Betty Crocker, Taste of Home and others.  One day I spotted one of these small cookbooks with the title Cooking For Two” by Betty Crocker. I found it interesting at the time because as I was trying to adjust to cooking smaller after preparing meals for so many years for a large family.

Armed with my recipes, Kristine checked her pantry and refrigerator to see what ingredients she already had on hand.  The next day Kristine and I picked up the ingredients I would need. On day six of my visit Kristine went off to work, Brian settled into the dining room to complete some schoolwork and I went to work in the kitchen to make a home-cooked meal.

Spicy Chicken Enchiladas

Ingredients:

2 boneless skinless chicken breast halves, cut into small pieces

½ cup chopped onion

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon dried oregano leaves

1/8 teaspoon pepper

2 oz. (1/2 cup) shredded Monterey Jack cheese

½ cup sour cream

2 Tablespoons Old El Paso® Chopped Green Chiles

½ cup Old El Paso® Enchilada Sauce

4 (8-inch) flour tortillas

2 oz. (1/2 cup) shredded Cheddar cheese

½ cup chopped lettuce

½ cup chopped tomato

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease 8-inch square (1 ½ quart) baking dish.  Spray medium nonstick skillet with nonstick cooking spray.  Add chicken; cook and stir over medium-high heat for 2 to 3 minutes or until lightly browned.
  2. Add onion, salt, oregano and pepper; cook and stir 3 to 5 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink. Cool 5 minutes.  Stir in Monterey Jack cheese, sour cream and chiles.
  3. Spread ¼ cup of the enchilada sauce in bottom of greased baking dish. Spoon chicken mixture evenly down center of each tortilla; roll up.  Place filled tortillas, seam side down, over sauce in dish.  Spoon remaining ¼ cup sauce over tortillas.  Cover with foil.
  4. Bake at 350°F. for 30 to 40 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Uncover; sprinkle with Cheddar cheese.  Bake an additional 4 to 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.  To serve, sprinkle with lettuce and tomato.

These enchiladas are so easy to put together with a preparation time of about 15 minutes.  Then short time in the oven and voilà you have a delicious meal.  I have been making these tasty enchiladas over the years for family and friends and always with the same result; they love them.  I doubled the recipe so Kristine could put some in the freezer to save for another day.

(Note: Light or nonfat sour cream and reduced-fat cheeses are good substitutes to reduce the fat by about 21 grams per serving in this recipe.)

Many years ago my friend Louise hosted a get-together for our couples group and prepared this wonderful, fresh salsa.  I loved it so much I asked if she would share the recipe; she did.  This recipe is easy to prepare and is equally good if served right way or put in the refrigerator for a while so that all the wonderful and fragrant ingredients can mingle.  Either way, it is delicious.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

1 pound firm, ripe Roma tomatoes, seeded and cut into ¼-inch pieces

1 fresh jalapeno chile, stemmed, seeded and very finely chopped

½ small red onion, finely chopped

2 Tablespoons finely chopped fresh cilantro

2 teaspoons lemon juice

2 teaspoons red wine vinegar

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon sugar

In a medium-size bowl, toss all ingredients together.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerator until serving.  Makes 2 cups

Kristine and beau Brian loved both!

An update on my standings: At this point I am still #4 in one of my brackets and #39 in the other in a field of 62.  I am hoping to stay in the top ten and it looks like that just might happen.  I am so excited.  No matter where your bracket(s) is I wish you luck!!  Enjoy watching the final game between North Carolina and Gonzaga tomorrow night; I will!

Miss Kitty sleeping peacefully on the couch and Miss Paige and her favorite stuffed toy relaxing on her bed. So cute!

Enjoy,

Mary

This entry was posted in enchiladas, Food, Mexican food, salsa and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

